Vice-President A. Ansip confirms Commission’s Focus on Authors’ Remuneration in Copyright Review at 2016 Creators’ Conference

The Creators Conference 2016 concluded (31.05.2016) after a productive day of panels, interviews and speeches by prominent artists, experts and policy makers discussing the current issues faced by the European creators’ community and the cultural and creative industries.

Held under the High Patronage of the European Parliament and with the support of the Creative Europe Programme, the high-level event brought together over 200 participants to reinforce the dialogue between creators, consumers and EU policy makers about European authors’ essential needs with regards to their rights and the digital future.

The Authors’ Group (ECSA, EFJ, EWC, FERA, and FSE) welcomed European Commission Vice-President Andrus Ansip in charge of the Digital Single Market for a keynote speech in which the Commissioner confirmed the “need to look closer at the conditions for remunerating creators and getting a fair share of the value generated”. Vice-President Ansip also stressed the “follow the money approach” and “widening access to content” for consumers as key elements to fight piracy, as well as the challenges related to online platforms. As for the latter, Vice-President Ansip stressed the “plan to ensure a level-playing field” and to “adapt existing rules to similar and comparable services”.
The Authors' Group took the opportunity to present Commissioner Ansip with its newly adopted Declaration « Towards a modern, more European copyright framework and the necessity of fair contracts for creators ».
The different sessions of the day prompted lively discussions about artistic freedom, digital opportunities, and fairness in authors’ contracts as well as sustainability in the exploitation of authors’ works online, where European creators shared their views and experience of the digital shift.Experts and policy makers shed light on possible developments of the cultural and creative industries, and recognized that European authors have found their rightful place in the current debate on the copyright legislative framework review.

This year’s edition of the Creators Conference was hosted by the European Composer & Songwriter Alliance (ECSA), in alliance with the European Federation of Journalists (EFJ), the European Writers’ Council (EWC), the Federation of European Film Directors (FERA), the Federation of Screenwriters in Europe (FSE), and Freemuse.

To access the full text of the Speech by Vice-President Ansip at the Creators’ Conference:

EU Prize for Literature Awards Ceremony held in Brussels – 2016

The 2016 European Prize for Literature Awards Ceremony took place at Concert Noble, Rue d'Arlon 82, 1000 Bruxelles, on 31st May 2016.
We were delighted to receive the 12 winning authors from Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Cyprus, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Luxembourg, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Romania, Slovenia and Spain.
The ceremony was an opportunity to bring writers from all these cultures together, all with one thing in common: their love for literature.
Our winning authors were presented with their awards by Mr. Tibor Navracsics, Commissioner for Education, Culture, Youth and Sport; in the presence of Mrs. Anneli Jäätteenmäki, MEP and Vice-President of the European Parliament, and Mrs. Marjan Hammersma, Director General of Culture and Media at the Dutch Minister of Education, Culture and Science, for the Dutch Presidency of the Council of the EU.
The anthology is available in PDF:


As the consortium selected by the European Commission to coordinate the initiative, the European and International Booksellers Federation (EIBF), the European Writers' Council (EWC) and the Federation of European Publishers (FEP) are jointly responsible for the setting up of the national juries and the practical organisation of the award ceremony. For more information:

Committee of the Regions issues “OPINION” on the ‘Modernisation of the EU copyright rules’

At its Plenary Session of 7-8 April 2016, the Committee of the Regions adopted an Opinion on the "Modernisation of EU copyright rules". The rapporteur for this opinion was Arnoldas Abramavicius (LT/EPP), Member of Zarasai District Municipal Council.
As part of their preliminary analysis, on 19 January 2016, the CoR held a hearing with invited stakeholders, who answered many questions on different aspects of the EC Communication published in December 2015: “Towards a modern, more European copyright framework COM(2015) 626 – final”
The authors’ associations selected for the hearing were: EWC, EFJ, and ECSA. Additional organisations included consumer representatives, CMOs, SMEs’, Media companies, publishers, booksellers, cultural heritage institutions (libraries), and the Young Pirates.
The full text of the opinion will shortly be available in all EU language versions on the website.

Authors' Group Issues Declaration: “Towards a modern, more European copyright framework and the necessity of fair contracts for creators”

PDF: Declaration

EWC, ECSA, EFJ, FERA and FSE issue their joint Declaration. Brussels.

On 31 May 2016, at the 2016 Creators’ Conference the Authors' Group took the opportunity to present Commissioner Ansip with its newly adopted Declaration «Towards a modern, more European copyright framework and the necessity of fair contracts for creators».
The joint Declaration highlights the common-ground of the different cultural sectors’ creators they represent, calling the European Commission to
take action for fair remuneration, fair contracts and transparency in its upcoming copyright legislative proposal.
About the Authors’ Group
The Authors’ Group represents more than 500 000 authors, including composers, film directors, journalists, literary translators, songwriters,
screenwriters and writers in Europe. Members of the Group are ECSA (European Composer & Songwriter Alliance),
EFJ (European Federation of Journalists), EWC (European Writers’ Council), FERA (Federation of Film Directors in Europe)
and FSE (Federation of Screenwriters Europe).

Digital Single Market Strategy: European Commission agrees areas for action

Published on 25/03/2015
"Digital technology is part of everyday life. From watching films, buying or selling online to connecting with friends – the internet is a goldmine of opportunities. But EU people and companies run into many barriers, such as geo-blocking or cross-border parcel delivery inefficiencies."

The Juncker Commission has made it a priority to remove these obstacles and create a Digital Single Market. The College of Commissioners had a first discussion on the Digital Single Market Strategy due in May.

Based on the work of Vice-President Ansip and his team, the College set out three main areas on which Commission action will focus during this mandate:

1.     Better access for consumers and businesses to digital goods and services;

2.     Shaping the environment for digital networks and services to flourish;

3.    Creating a European Digital Economy and Society with long-term growth potential.

The above includes the following priority:

·         Modernising copyright law to ensure the right balance between the interests of creators and those of users or consumers. It will improve people's access to culture – and therefore support cultural diversity – while opening new opportunities for artists and content creators and ensuring a better enforcement of rights.
To read the full text: