4 mins

Support for Writers from Ukraine and Belarus: EWC launches #FreeAllWords
#FreeAllWords: International Text and Translation Fund of the European Writers’ Council (EWC) gives a voice to authors from Belarus and Ukraine Brussels, 14 July 2022 Media information for immediate release Media campaign starts at the end of July Presentation at the Frankfurt Book Fair The international initiative #FreeAllWords ( was set up by the European Writers’ Council (EWC) with the ...

One Year of Crisis: The Winter of our Discontent. The European Writers’ Council publishes its follow-up survey on the Economic Impact of the Covid-19 Crisis on Writers and Translators in the European Book Sector 2020-2022 and states its position on the results. ...

The EWC has withdrawn from the Consortium of the European Union Prize for Literature (EUPL) with effect from January 2022. “The new EUPL concept does not promote multilingualism as key to the European language diversity, and is not following the principles of equal treatment for all participating countries”, says the EWC Board. ...

Ukraine: European and International Writers and Translators against War and Violence – 53 Chairs and Presidents from 29 countries signed the declaration
We condemn Putin’s crimes against democracy and humanity The violent attack on 24 February by the Russian government on Ukraine is a war against all democracies, our values, our convictions of peace, freedom and human rights. Russian President Putin’s despicable war attacks in Ukraine massively violate the democratic freedom won in many states in Eastern Europe after 1989. ...

#StandwithUkraine – HOW TO SUPPORT
Recommendations by EWC member organisations and European writers’ and translators’ associations ...

Ми засуджуємо злочини Путіна проти демократії та людства.
Сьогоднішня жорстока атака з боку російського уряду на Україну — це війна проти усіх демократій, наших цінностей, наших переконань щодо миру, свободи та прав людини. ...

Украина: писатели Европы против войны и насилия
Мы осуждаем преступления Путина против демократии и человечности Акт агрессии российской власти против Украины – это война с демократией, нашими ценностями, представлениями о мире, свободе и правах человека. ...

PRESS RELEASE One Year of Crisis: The Winter of our Discontent
Media information: The European Writers’ Council publishes its follow-up survey on The Economic Impact of the Covid-19 on Writers and Translators in the European Book Sector 2020-2022 Brussels, 1 November 2021 Already in 2020, the European Writers’ Council study The Economic Impact of Covid-19 on Writers and Translators in the European Book Sector surveyed 33 professional organisations from 27 countries ...

9 November 2021: EUPL 2021 AWARD CEREMONY
European Union Prize for Literature looks forward to the 2021 Award Ceremony in Brussels – live & livestreamed The European Union Prize for Literature (EUPL) is pleased to announce its 2021 Award Ceremony will take place on 9 November 2021. The ceremony will celebrate the thirteen national laureates of the 2021 edition. Taking place at the culture house Flagey in ...

To the Members of the European Parliament DROI Subcommittee on Human Rights  
Human rights violation and state abuse against cultural professionals, writers and translators in Belarus. Briefing by the European Writers’ Council for the DROI meeting on 27 and 28 October 2021. ...

Forced liquidation: The European Writers’ Council stands with its member, the Union of Belarusian Writers 
Judge Ihar Milto of the Supreme Court in Minsk has decided on 1 October 2021 to shut down the independent Union of Belarusian Writers (UBW). Once again the illegitimate Lukashenka regime proves its willingness to violently suppress democracy and free speech. ...

Belarus: Radical crackdown against the Free Word
The European Council of Literary Translators’ Associations (CEATL), the European Federation of Journalists (EFJ) and the European Writers Council (EWC) call on the governments of Europe and the international community to demonstrate firm support for the democracy movement in Belarus and to provide refuge and humanitarian assistance to those fleeing the country. ...


Fédération des associations européennes d’écrivains (FAEE – AISBL)

The European Writers’ Council represents 160,000 professional writers and translators in the book and text sector in all genres, from all over Europe.


The European Writers’ Council is the federation of 46 national organisations of professional writers and translators in 30 countries including the EEA and EU, as well as Belarus, Iceland, Montenegro, Norway, Switzerland and United Kingdom, altogether writing in 32 languages.

EWC’s member associations represent 160,000 individual authors in the book and text sector in all genres.

The EWC defends the professional interests of its members in economic, legal and political contexts, their right to remuneration and compensation for their works, their relevance in cultural and social policy, freedom of expression, freedom of association, and the importance of lesser spoken and written languages.

The EWC champions the diversity of literatures while raising awareness for both the role of authors in society and the need to have their social, moral and economic rights respected in the digital age.

The EWC promotes the need for a wider access to culture, including the production of special formats for the visually impaired persons of the world.

The EWC remains determined to raise and publicly present the commitment of professional writers and translators to shaping the profile of Europe through individual creativity within the diversity of expressions in the rich variety of living European languages.

The EWC was part of the consortium implementing the European Union Prize for Literature from 2009-2021, in collaboration with the European Commission.

The EWC-EWC/FAEE aisle’s official aims and mission are to represent the professional interests of the creators of literature: poetry, fiction and non-fiction, juvenile and children’s literature, drama, screenplay, core texts for audiovisual works and translation of all forms of literary works, while contributing to the debate on the role of authors, culture and cultural policy in Europe and the world; to facilitate trans-European cultural & literary co-operation,and to advocate for the literatures of Europe, cultural and linguistic diversity, and also to promote the writers’ contribution to culture, including in the lesser known languages.

Our mission comprises three main objectives/domains within the European context:

  • Authors’ Rights, including Copyright
  • Cultural Policy
  • Cultural Exchange

The EWC is legally represented by the Executive Board: the President and up to two Vice-Presidents, plus up to four regular board members. These professional writers act in an honorary capacity and are elected or re-elected by the EWC Assembly for the term of two years.
The delegates of each organisation gather each year in a European city and participate in the Annual General Assembly, which is the main governing body.

The duty of running the day-to-day business and of implementing the policies and work programme has been assigned to the Secretary-General who is our legal representative and spokesperson, working in close contact with the Board whose members live in seven different countries of Europe.

The size and scope of this continuous work in co-operation with other European authors’ organisations, stakeholders in the book and publishing chain, collective management organisations (CMOs), the European Parliament, and the European Commission to name just a few, depends on the financial resources of the EWC: These are scarce, as with many independent non-profit authors’ organisations.
The EWC is currently funded by the annual membership fees and donations.