2 mins

The European Writers’ Council (EWC) represents 160,000 professional writers and translators in the book and text sector in all genres, from all over Europe.

The European Writers’ Council is the federation of 46 national organisations of professional writers and translators in 31 countries including the EU and EEA, as well as Belarus, Iceland, Norway, Switzerland, Turkey and Montenegro, altogether writing in 31 languages.

The EWC’s member associations represent 160,000 individual authors in the book and text sector in all genres.

The EWC defends the professional interests of its members in economic, legal and political contexts, their right to remuneration and compensation for their works, their relevance in cultural and social policy, freedom of expression, freedom of association, and the importance of lesser spoken and written languages.

The EWC champions the diversity of literatures while raising awareness for both the role of authors in society and the need to have their social, moral and economic rights respected in the digital age.For a wider access to culture, including the production of special formats for the visually impaired persons of the world.

The EWC remains determined to raise and publicly present the commitment of professional writers and translators to shaping the profile of Europe through individual creativity within the diversity of expressions in the rich variety of living European languages.

The EWC is part of the consortium implementing the European Union Prize for Literature, in collaboration with the European Commission.

EWC Board 2021-2023: https://europeanwriterscouncil.eu/ewc-board/

#freewordsBelarus: European Writers stand with the Union of Belarusian Writers
In response to the news that the Belarusian Justice Ministry intends to liquidate the independent Union of Belarusian Writers, the European Writers Council (EWC) stands up high against the outrageous
The EWC Annual General Assembly 2021 was successfully held online – new EWC Board elected
Authors’ Rights, freedom of speech, and cooperation across borders: The writers and translators of the European book sector stand together for a sustainable future and the diversity of books.
EWC presented: Invasion of Reality – Prose, Politics & Poetry. Watch the Session Videos now
5 June, 17:00 CEST: The EWC Literature Evening (online)  Saturday, 5 June 17:00 -19:30 (CEST) – we enjoyed discussions and poetry readings around burning issues of writers and the book
The EWC Burning Issues Forum – 4 June 14.00 CEST
Discussions and presentations on national challenges. EWC members & special guests.
Authors’ Rights in Motion: EWC is launching its own Video Channel
The European Writers’ Council is proud to announce that our federation is starting its own Video Channel at Daily Motion on November 24: www.dailymotion.com/europeanwriterscouncil
EWC welcomes La Société des Gens de Lettres (Society of French Literati) as new member
“We are their voice. We defend authors and their rights, our rights. Our fight consist in improving our social status, our ticket to our freedom of creation”, says Christophe Hardy.