EU Prize for Literature 2019 Winners Announced


Posted on May 22, 2019, 5:02 pm
2 mins

EU Prize for Literature 2019 Winners Announced

14 emerging authors from across Europe have been announced as laureates of the 2019 European Union Prize for Literature (EUPL).

On 22 May, the laureates of the European Union Prize for Literature (EUPL) 2019 were officially announced. The award ceremony will be held in Brussels on October 2nd, 2019.
The announcement was made by Tibor Navracsics, the European Commissioner for Education, Youth, Sport and Culture, and the Romanian Minister of Culture and National Identity, Mr Valer-Daniel Breaz, at the Permanent representation of Romania to the European Union in Brussels.

The EUPL 2019 laureates are:

• Laura Fredenthaler (Austria)
• Piia Leino (Finland)
• Sophie Daull (France)
• Réka Mán-Várhegyi (Hungary)
• Beqa Adamashvili (Georgia)
• Nikos Chryssos (Greece)
• Jan Carson (Ireland)
• Giovanni Dozzini (Italy)
• Daina Opolskaite (Lithuania)
• Marta Dzido (Poland)
• Tatiana Țîbuleac (Romania)
• Ivana Dobrakovová (Slovakia)
• Halya Shyyan (Ukraine)
• Melissa Harrison (United Kingdom) 

More information about our winning authors:

The selected countries participating in 2020 (next year):
Belgium, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Croatia, Cyprus, Denmark, Estonia, North Macedonia, Germany, Kosovo, Luxembourg, Montenegro, Norway and Spain.
The EUPL is an award which recognises outstanding new and emerging literary talents across Europe, and highlights the wealth of contemporary European literature.
The prize also draws attention to the continent’s unique cultural and linguistic heritage. So far, the EUPL has awarded 108 authors from 41 countries and this year, it is announcing its first ever winners from Georgia and Ukraine.
Supported by Creative Europe, the initiative is accessible to all countries participating in this EU funding programme for the cultural and creative sectors for the current period 2014-2020.
The European Union Prize for Literature is organised by a consortium comprising the European and International Booksellers Federation (EIBF), the European Writers’ Council (EWC) and the Federation of European Publishers (FEP).