Awards Ceremony of the EU Prize for Literature 2019 


Posted on August 29, 2019, 4:52 pm
2 mins


The Awards Ceremony of the EU Prize for Literature 2019 to be held on 2 October 2019 in BOZAR, Brussels

The European Union Prize for Literature (EUPL) will award its 14 winning authors of the 2019 edition on 2 October 2019 in BOZAR, Brussels. The awards will be handed to the winners by the EU Commissioner for Culture, Education, Youth and Sports, Mr Tibor Navracsics and the Chair of the CULT Committee of the European Parliament, Ms Sabine Verheyen. The keynote speech will be given by the best-selling Finnish author Sofi Oksanen.

The 14 winning authors of the EUPL 2019 are: Laura Freudenthaler (Austria), Piia Leino (Finland), Sophie Daull (France), Réka Mán-Várhegyi (Hungary), Beqa Adamashvili (Georgia), Nikos Chryssos (Greece), Jan Carson (Ireland), Giovanni Dozzini (Italy), Daina Opolskaitė (Lithuania), Marta Dzido (Poland), Tatiana Țîbuleac (Romania), Ivana Dobrakovová (Slovakia), Haska Shyyan (Ukraine) and Melissa Harrison (United Kingdom).

The European Union Prize for Literature (EUPL) is an award which recognises outstanding new and emerging literary talents across Europe, and highlights the wealth of contemporary European literature, while drawing attention to the continent’s unique cultural and linguistic heritage. So far, the EUPL has rewarded 108 authors from 41 country during a decade of its existence. Last year, the EUPL celebrated its 10th Anniversary with the ‘European stories’ short story contest open for all previous laureates. Entering its new cycle, the Prize is introducing its first ever laureates from Georgia and Ukraine. As the central event of the EUPL year, the Awards Ceremony is an opportunity to celebrate European literary diversity and encourage transnational cultural exchange.

From 2009-2021, the EWC was part of the consortium organising the EUPL together with FEP and EIBF. From 2022 on, the EUPL is organised by FEP and EIBF only.